Celebration of Scholarships
George A. Snow Memorial Award

Scholarship History

Lila Snow and her children established the George A. Snow Memorial Award on February 23, 2001 to provide an annual award for a student or faculty member who personally helps advance the representation of women in the field of physics.

Donor Statement

Dr. George A. Snow was a professor of physics at the University of Maryland from 1957-1992. From 1970 through 1971 he served as acting chair of the Department of Physics. In addition to his work at the University, Dr. Snow's research contributions in experimental and phenomenological high-energy physics had a considerable impact on the field. In 1958, he established the High Energy Physics Group at Maryland, and led this group until his retirement from the University in 1992.

Throughout his tenure at the University, Dr. Snow remained committed to advancing and expanding the participation of women in the sciences. Dr. Snow and his wife, Lila, taught the first Women's Studies course at the University in the Spring semester of 1972. In order to honor Dr. Snow's commitment to assisting women in the sciences, his wife and children established, through the University of Maryland College Park Foundation, Inc., an endowed fund at the University of Maryland, College Park, to help advance women in physics.

Donor Scholars
Photo attached Scholar response available

2015 - 2016 Scholar

2012 - 2013 Scholar

2010 - 2011 Scholar

2009 - 2010 Scholar

2008 - 2009 Scholar

2007 - 2008 Scholar

2005 - 2006 Scholar

2004 - 2005 Scholar

University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742, USA / Phone 301.405.0039
Copyright 2015 University of Maryland
Contact us with comments, questions and feedback